Two Powerful APC Senators Dump Party, Join PDP


APC loses two Powerful senators to PDP

Senate Majority Leader and , both members of the All Progressives Congress (APC), have officially defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) .  Also Read : JUST IN: 8 House of Assembly members dump APC for PDP [FULL LIST]

The two APC senators from Kebbi State announced their formal defections in two separate letters addressed to Senate President Ahmad Lawan, which were read in plenary on Tuesday.

Read Also : Popular Nigerian Footballer found dead in his car

Senators Aliero represents the senatorial districts of Kebbi Central and Abdullahi represents Kebbi North.

Western Delta University Current Recruitment for Graduates

On June 15, the Senate Minority Leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe, formally defected from the Peoples Democratic Party to the All Progressives Grand Alliance.


The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, was unable to bring his defection and resignation letter to plenary, so his defection and exit as Minority Leader were postponed.

Read Also : Brave Tanker Driver: Senate to honour Ejiro Otarigho for averting catastrophe

Despite Lawan’s announcement to the contrary, it was agreed that Abaribe’s letter be read on the floor before his departure as Minority Leader, following a point of order raised by Sen. Gabriel Suswam (PDP- Benue).

With the exception of Abaribe, who is set to formally defect from the opposition party to APGA, the total number of PDP senators has increased to 39 from the previous 38.

Hot News : INEC registration portal login: INEC Registration Form and How Register Online

It also reduced the number of APC Senators in the Senate from 71 to 69.

Hot Job  Apply  Now : NERC Recruitment Portal | How to Apply for NERC Recruitment for free


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.