Top Players Dropped as NFF Releases Super Eagles Squad List to Play World Cup Qualifiers Against Ghana

Nigeria Vs Sudan

Super Eagles Squad against Ghana has been released.

Technical Adviser Augustine Eguavoen has named Captain Ahmed Musa, deputy captain William Ekong, midfielder Wilfred Ndidi, and forwards Moses Simon and Kelechi Iheanacho have been named in a Super Eagles provisional list of 32 for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 play-off round against Ghana’s Black Stars.


Alex Iwobi of Everton was not on the provisional list obtained by Ejes Gist Newspaper on Friday.

WAEC 2022 Massive Recruitment for Graduates - APPLY NOW

and , as well as defenders , , and , midfielders and , and forwards , , and have been called up.

Read Also : Shane Warne: Former Australia cricketer dies at the age of 52

Ademola Lookman of Leicester City FC in England, who was recently cleared by FIFA to switch international allegiance, and former U-17 World Cup star Akinkunmi Amoo are called up for the first time, while defender Calvin Bassey and forward Emmanuel Dennis.

A seven-man standby list includes 2021 AFCON forwards Taiwo Awoniyi and Peter Olayinka, defender Chidozie Awaziem, and long-term absentee Ogenyi Onazi.

“The camp will begin on March 21st in Abuja, with a final 24-man list for the two big games to be released at a later date,” the Nigeria Football Federation’s spokesperson, Ademola Olajire, said in a statement.

Nigeria will face Ghana at the 20,000-seat Cape Coast Sports Stadium on Friday, March 25th at 7.30pm, with the return leg scheduled for Tuesday, March 29th at 6 pm at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium in Abuja. The winner of the two-leg match will earn one of Africa’s five tickets to the 22nd FIFA World Cup finals, which will be held in Qatar from November 14th to December 18th this year.

Full List Of Super Eagles Squad For 2022 World Cup Qualifier to face Ghana below:

Goalkeeper: Maduka Okoye, Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi

Defenders: William Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun, Ola Aina, Semi Ajayi, Zaidu Sanusi and Shehu Abdullahi.

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi, Joe Aribo, Frank Onyeka, Akinkunmi Amoo.

Forwards: Ahmed Musa, Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze, Victor Osimhen, Sadiq Umar, Kelechi Iheanacho, Emmanuel Dennis and Ademola Lookman.

Standby list: Chidozie Awaziem, Jamilu Collins, Chidera Ejuke, Taiwo Awoniyi, Paul Onuachu, Peter Olayinka and Ogenyi Onazi



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.