South Africa Win 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations WAFCON

South Africa Win 2022 Women's Africa Cup of Nations WAFCON

Full time Score 1 – 2

The breaking news now is that of has won the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON).


Banyana Banyana has claimed their first ever WAFCON trophy!!!

First Bank Graduate Trainee Massive Recruitment 2022: See How To Apply Now


The Banyana Banyana defeated Morocco 2 goals to one to clinch the trophy for the first time in history.


WAFCON final final Morocco vs South Africa: Morocco, South Africa fight for title

The Women’s Africa Cup of Nations for this year will come to a close when Morocco and South Africa engage in a thrilling final on Saturday in Rabat.

The Atlas Lionesses of Morocco, who defeated Botswana in the WAFCON quarterfinals, became the first team ever to qualify for the Women’s World Cup.

Ghizlane Chebbak, the forward who was chosen as the group stage’s top performer, was named “Woman of the Match.”

Banyana Banyana was able to win the game and secure their second consecutive place at the World Cup thanks to a goal from Jermaine Seoposenwe in the first half.

On paper, South Africa appears to be the favourite to win, but Morocco has proven to be a worthy host and has done enough to gain the right to host the first-ever FIFA Women’s World Cup, which could derail South Africa’s chances of taking home the title.

Also Read : CAF Awards 2022 winners: Sadio Mané, Asisat Oshoala win African Player of the Year [See Full List]

Undoubtedly, the Saturday final between South Africa and Morocco will usher in a new era of African women’s football.

With it, women’s football in Africa has advanced to the next stage of growth.

As the game develops across the continent, a range of teams will ascend to the top, whereas the initial phase was about the ascent of a few heavyweights, lead by Nigeria.

Nigeria, which has historically dominated the competition by winning 11 of the 13 WAFCON tournaments to date, including the first one in 1991, is up against two teams that have never won the trophy in the championship final.

To set up the championship, South Africa defeated Zambia and Morocco defeated Nigeria.


Also automatically qualifying for the Women’s World Cup final stage in Australia and New Zealand in 2023 are these top four WAFCON teams.

Two of them, Morocco and Zambia, will be making their debuts for the continent at the greatest football competition in the world, which is held every four years.

This, combined with the fact that they were successful at WAFCON, demonstrates how, despite the difficulties, the women’s game in Africa is still developing quickly.

Additionally, Nigeria will not participate in the WAFCON finals for the first time.

According to experts, the match will be exciting and engaging at the same time as both teams compete for their first-ever WAFCON trophy.

Thanks for reading Morocco vs South Africa


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.