Senate confirms Buhari’s 7 new ministerial nominees

Senate confirms Buhari’s seven new ministerial nominees

President Muhammadu Buhari’s seven ministerial nominees have all received Senate confirmation.


After being screened before the National Assembly’s upper chamber on Wednesday, they were officially announced. Ahmed Lawan, president of the Senate, oversaw the exercise.

First Bank Graduate Trainee Massive Recruitment 2022: See How To Apply Now

The news broke a few days after President Buhari named the and requested their confirmation in a letter to the Senate.

Also Read : Former Governor dumps Atiku, says it’s South’s turn to produce President

One minister each from the north-west, south-west, and south-south regions join the four newly confirmed ministers from four south-east states.

Henry Ikechukwu, Umana Okon Umana, Ekuma Joseph, Goodluck Nana Obia, Umar Ibrahim Yakub, Ademola Adewole Adegorioye, and Odo Udi are among the newly appointed officials from the states of Abia, Akwa-Ibom, Ebonyi, Imo, Kano, and Rivers.

They were chosen as a result of the resignation of certain cabinet members who left their positions to run for elective offices in the recently held APC primary elections (APC).

Rotimi Amaechi, a former governor of Rivers State, Godswill Akpabio, a former governor of Akwa Ibom, Ogbonnaya Onu, and Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba were among the ministers who left their positions to run for the APC presidential nomination, which none of them succeeded in doing.

Recommended Naija News 

They resigned in accordance with Section 84(12) of the Electoral Act, which states that “no political appointee at any level shall be a voting delegate or be voted for at the convention or congress of any political party for the purpose of the nomination of candidates for any election.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.