Ibrahim Magu : Disregard PDP's Fake Lamentation, They are the founders of corruption in Nigeria- APC tells Nigerians

Ejes Gist NewsOnline Nigeria reports that a member of the Ondo State House of Representatives, Peter , has defected to the All Progressives Congress from the African Democratic Congress.

READ ALSO : Breaking: Abia Police Station Under Attack

In his letter of defection, read by the Speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila, to the members of the plenary on Tuesday, Makinde blamed the defection on the alleged division of the ADC.

After reading the letter, Gbajabiamila said, “You are welcome to the progressive party.”

Nevertheless, several members of the People’s Democratic Party shouted to the point of order.

ALSO READ : Many Feared Dead As Shekau-Led Boko Haram And ISWAP Terrorists Clash

However, a minority caucus leader, Nicholas Ossai, who was permitted to speak, protested the defection, stating that it violated Section 68 of the Constitution.

Nevertheless, Gbajabiamila rejected Ossai’s arguments, asking him or any member of the opposition to mention the name of the ADC chairman.

READ ALSO : They Are Peaceful People”  Sheik Gumi Speaks On Fulani Herdsmen That Took To Banditry

Those protesting against the defection lacked knowledge of the goings-on in the ADC, according to the Speaker, and, as such, are not in a position to question the reason cited for the defection by Makinde.

“They were defined by Gbajabiamila as “meddlesome interloper,” saying they “have no locus,” and therefore a “busy body.

“He said, “You don’t even know the name of the party chairman, so your (point of) order is overruled.

Between October 2020 and February 2021, eleven defections have so far been reported, all to the .

Two House members, Shehu Yakubu Abdullahi of Bauchi State, defected from the Peoples’ Redemption Party to the APC on Tuesday last week. The All Progressives Grand Alliance for the APC was also dumped by Blessing Onuh, the daughter of former Senate President David Mark of Benue State.

On December 17, 2020, Abia State’s Samuel Onuigbo declared his defection from the People’s Democratic Party to the APC.

The previous day, Ondo State’s Tajudeen Adefiyose defected from the SDP to the APC.


The day before Adefisoye’s statement, Kano State’s Aliyu Datti Yako defected from the PDP to the APC, while Taraba State’s Shiddi Usman Danjuma defected from the APGA to the APC.

A member from Benue State, Herman Hembe, had the previous week defected from APGA to the APC. Hembe was in the PDP before joining APGA.

Three members of the House had earlier in October 2020 switched parties.

They were Kolawole Lawal from Ogun State who returned to the APC from the Allied Peoples Movement; Ephraim Nwuzi from Rivers State and David Abel from Taraba State who defected from the PDP to the APC.

Previous articleBreaking: Abia Police Station Under Attack
Next articleBreaking: Many Feared Killed As Gunshots, Explosions Rock Maiduguri


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.