List Of CBN Governors In Nigeria Till Date – From 1959


See the Full From 1959 Till Date

Keep reading because Ejes Gist News will be taking you through the complete list of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governors from 1959 to the present, so make sure you finish reading to the end. 

The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) is a financial institution in Nigeria.

The Central Bank of Nigeria was established in 1958 by an Act of Parliament, which was amended in 1991, 1993, 1997, 1998, 1999, and 2007.

Hot Jobs 🔥 1. Rano Air Limited Massive Recruitment for OND, HND/BSC Graduates 2. Skyway Aviation Handling Company Plc Management Trainee Programme 2021 For BSC/HND

The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Act of 2007 of the Federal Republic of Nigeria vested the Bank with comprehensive control and administration of the Federal Government’s monetary and financial sector policies and practises.

What are the Objectives Of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN.

Here are the main objectives of the CBN

  1. To ensure monetary and price stability
  2. To issue legal tender currency in Nigeria
  3. To maintain external reserves to safeguard the international value of the legal tender currency
  4. To promote a sound financial system in Nigeria; and
  5. To act as Banker and provide economic and financial advice to the Federal Government.

List of Past CBN Governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN)

Below is the full From 1959.

  1. Roy Pentelow Fenton, From: (1958 – 1963).
  2. Alhaji Aliyu Mai-Bornu, From: (1963 – 1967).
  3. Dr. Clement Nyong Isong, From: (1972 – 1975).
  4. Mallam Adamu Ciroma, From: (1975 – 1977).
  5. Mr. O. Ola. Vincent, From: (1977 – 1982).
  6. Alahji Abdulkadir Ahmed From: (1982 – 1993).
  7. Dr. Paul Agbai Ogwuma, From: (1993 – 1999).
  8. Chief (Dr.) Joseph Oladele Sanusi, CON  From: (1999 – 2004).
  9. Prof. Chukwuma C. Soludo, CFR From: (2004 – 2009).
  10. Mallam Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, CON From: (2009 – 2014).
  11. Mr. , CON From: (2014 – To Date).

List Of CBN Governors In Nigeria

Governor Previous position Term start
Roy Pentelow Fenton 24 July 1958  – 24 July 1963
Aliyu Mai-Bornu Deputy Governor, CBN 25 July 1963 –22 June 1967
Clement Nyong Isong Advisor International Monetary Fund 15 August 1967 22 – September 1975
Adamu Ciroma 24 September 1975 – 28 June 1977
Ola Vincent Deputy Governor, CBN 28 June 1977 – 28 June 1982
Abdulkadir Ahmed Deputy Governor, CBN 28 June 1982 – 30 September 1993
Paul Agbai Ogwuma CEO, Union Bank of Nigeria 1 October 1993 – 29 May 1999
Joseph Oladele Sanusi CEO First Bank of Nigeria 29 May 1999 – 29 May 2004
Chief Executive, National Planning Commission 29 May 2004 – 29 May 2009
CEO, First Bank of Nigeria 3 June 2009
Sarah Alade Deputy Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria 20 February 2014
Chief Executive Officer, Zenith Bank 3 June 2014


Primarily, the Bank is tasked with the administration of the Banks and Other Financial Institutions (BOFI) Act (1991) as amended, with the sole objective of ensuring high standards of banking practise and financial stability through its surveillance activities, as well as the promotion of an efficient payment system.


In addition to its primary tasks, the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has over the years carried out some significant developmental functions, with a particular emphasis on all of the key sectors of the Nigerian economy (financial, agricultural, and industrial sectors). The Bank, through its many departments, is responsible for carrying out these requirements in their entirety.

Full From 1959 Till Date



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.