JUST IN: Senate Majority, Minority leaders resign

Breaking News

Senate Majority, Minority leaders resign

Senators Yahaya Abdullahi and Enyinnaya Abaribe have formally resigned from their positions as Senate Majority and Minority Leaders, respectively.

At the resumption of plenary, Senate President Ahmad Lawan read their respective resignation letters.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Massive Job Recruitment Exercise 2022 - 132 Positions

Following their defection from the party platforms on which they were elected as senators, the two top officers resigned.

Read Also: Hanifa’s murder: Court gives date for Judgement delivery

While Abdullahi switched from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the People Democratic Party (PDP), Abaribe switched from PDP to the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

“Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe decamped from the PDP to the APGA,” Lawan said.

In addition, he has resigned as the Minority Leader in this chamber.”

Senator Yahaya Abdullahi also stated in his resignation letter that he left the APC due to a lack of internal democracy within the party.

“Politics is a local affair.

I can’t continue working for the federal government while my people live in abject poverty.

Pay Attention to: 2023: Adeyanju urges Peter Obi, others to form Alliance to defeat Tinubu, Atiku

“I switched to the PDP after failing to get justice in the APC,” Senator Abdullahi said.

Senator Adamu Aliero’s (Kebbi Central) letter announcing his defection from the APC to the PDP was also read on the Senate floor.

That is the latest Naija News Today on Senate Majority, Minority leaders resign



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.