Ejes Gist telegram link

The governors of Nigeria’s southern states have decided that the country’s next president should be from the region.


The announcement came after a closed-door gathering of in Lagos on Monday to discuss the state of the country.

ALSO READ : Governor Dave Umahi appoints new Chief of Staff

Rotimi Akeredolu, Chairman of the Forum, stated this to press following the meeting, saying the decision was reached after extensive consideration on current events across the country.

ALSO READ : BREAKING: Southern Govs Set Deadline for Implementation of Anti-open Grazing law

Governors Seyi Makinde (Oyo); Dapo Abiodun (Ogun); Gboyega Oyetola (Osun); Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti); and Nyesom Wike (Nigeria) were in attendance at the meeting, which was hosted by Lagos Governor Bababjide Sanwo-Olu (Rivers). Others are Bayelsa’s Duoye Diri, Enugu’s Emeka Ugwuanyi, Ondo’s Rotimi Akeredolu, Delta’s Ifeanyi Okowa, and Delta’s Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom).


State governors were also represented by Deputy Governors Philip Shaibu (Edo), Ude Chukwu (Abia), Placid Njoku (Imo), and Kelechi Igwe (Ebonyi).


This comes after the Governors voted unanimously in May to prohibit open grazing in the region.


They also set September 21, 2021 as the deadline for member states to pass anti-open grazing legislation.

Get Latest Job Vacancies Via Email

Hot Job [Apply Now]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.