Ballon d’or winners from 1956 till date ( Full List )

BALLON D'OR 2021 –2021 Ballon d'Or

Complete List of from 1956 till date

The Complete List of Can be accessed here at Ejes Gist News 

The Ballon d’Or award, which was first given out in 1956, is detailed below. Lionel Messi was the most recent winner in 2021. Messi holds the record for most Ballon d’Or wins with seven, while Cristiano Ronaldo holds the record with five.


Because it was only open to European players at European clubs until 1995, the award was often referred to as the European Footballer of the Year award. In 1995, the rules were changed to allow non-European players who played for a European club to be eligible for the award. Then, in 2007, any player from anywhere on the planet became eligible.

Many people who come to this page are looking for the FIFA Player of the Year results. The Ballon d’Or and FIFA Player of the Year awards were merged between 2009 and 2015 to form the FIFA Ballon d’Or. The first women’s Ballon d’Or award (dubbed the Ballon d’Or Féminin) was presented in 2018.

The award was merged with the FIFA Player of the Year award after 2009. In 2016, France Football announced that their partnership with FIFA was ending and that the Ballon d’Or would be revived, with the 2016 edition becoming the 61st. There was no award in 2020 due to the disruption of world sport caused by the coronavirus pandemic.

List of Men’s Ballon d’Or award winners

year player Nationality club
2021 Argentina Paris Saint-Germain F.C.
2020 not awarded
2019 Argentina Barcelona
2018 Luka Modric Croatia Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2015 Argentina Barcelona
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2012 Argentina Barcelona
2011 Argentina Barcelona
2010 Argentina Barcelona
2009 Argentina Barcelona
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Manchester United
2007 Kaká Brazil Milan
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Italy Real Madrid
2005 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona
2004 Andriy Shevchenko Ukrain Milan
2003 Pavel Nedvěd Czech Republic Juventus
2002 Ronaldo Brazil Real Madrid
2001 Michael Owen England Liverpool
2000 Luís Figo Portugal Real Madrid
1999 Rivaldo Brazil Barcelona
1998 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus
1997 Ronaldo Brazil Internazionale
1996 Matthias Sammer Germany Borussia Dortmund
1995 George Weah Liberia Milan
1994 Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria Barcelona
1993 Roberto Baggio Italy Juventus
1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin France Marseille
1990 Lothar Matthäus Germany Internazionale
1989 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1988 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1987 Ruud Gullit Netherlands Milan
1986 Igor Belanov Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1985 Michel Platini France Juventus
1984 Michel Platini France Juventus
1983 Michel Platini France Juventus
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy Juventus
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1979 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1978 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1977 Allan Simonsen Denmark Borussia M”nchengladbach
1976 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1975 Oleg Blokhin Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv
1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1973 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1972 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1971 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Ajax
1970 Gerd Müller West Germany Bayern Munich
1969 Gianni Rivera Italy Milan
1968 George Best Northern Ireland Manchester United
1967 Flórián Albert Hungary Ferencv rosi TC
1966 Bobby Charlton England Manchester United
1965 Eusébio Portugal Benfica
1964 Denis Law Scotland Manchester United
1963 Lev Yashin Soviet Union Dynamo Moscow
1962 Josef Masopust Czechoslovakia Dukla Prague
1961 Omar Sívori Italy Juventus
1960 Luis Suárez Spain Barcelona
1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa France Real Madrid
1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1956 Stanley Matthews England Blackpool

Winners of the Women’s Ballon d’Or (Ballon d’Or Féminin)

year player Nationality club
2021 Alexia Putellas Spain Barcelona
2020 not awarded
2019 Megan Rapinoe USA Reign FC
2018 Ada Hegerberg Norway Olympique Lyonnais

Who has won most Ballon d Or?

  • Messi has won the most Ballon d Or

Ejes Gist News reports,  Messi is the most decorated player in the Ballon d’Or’s history. A total of ten players have won the trophy multiple times, with Messi leading the way with seven. Cristiano Ronaldo is in second place, having won the competition five times.


Who won women’s Ballon d Or?

  • Alexia Putellas  2021
  • Megan Rapinoe  2019
  • Ada Hegerberg  2018
Ballon d’or winners
for 7th time ,

Ballon d’Or Féminin/Winners
Alexia Putellas became just the third female player to win the Women’s Ballon d’Or following a treble-winning campaign for Barcelona.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.