APC Caretaker committee passes ‘vote of no confidence’ in Akpanudoedehe

Senator John James Akpanudoedehe

APC Caretaker committee passes ‘vote of no confidence’ in Akpanudoedehe

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APCleadership )’s crisis has worsened, with 10 of the 12 members of the Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) voting no confidence in the committee’s Secretary, Senator John James Akpanudoedehe.

The Secretary, however, declared in a statement that the sub-committees created by the Abubakar Sani Bello-led committee last week will be cancelled.

The newly approved sub-committees trump any other list now in circulation, according to Akpanudoedehe.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Massive Job Recruitment Exercise 2022 - 132 Positions

However, the chairman, Gov Mai Mala Buni, criticised the supposed suspension of some CECPC functions under interim Chairman Governor Abubakar Sani-Bello in a statement.

Buni indicated in a statement dated March 17, 2022 that acts taken out by Sani Bello’s CECPC while he was away were legal and binding.

“This is to bring to the attention of all stakeholders and members of the party that the purported suspension of some activities by the Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee under the acting Chairman and Niger State Governor, H.E. Muhammed Sani Bello, IS NOT TRUE,” the statement reads.

“As a result, any actions taken during my absence are still valid and binding. All party stakeholders and members are urged to overlook the prior statement dismissing the Committee’s activities under the Acting Chairman’s leadership.

Buni and APC’s unfinished business is also worth reading.
“It may be noted that I duly transmitted power to His Excellency, the Governor of Niger State, H.E. Abubakar Sani Bello, in order for me to receive medical attention.

“As a result, all acts and measures taken by the Committee while he served as Acting Chairman are still in effect.

READ ALSO: BREAKING: APC Cancels NEC Meeting After Buhari’s letter to Atiku

“To move the party forward to a successful Convention on March 26th, 2022, the party asks for support and understanding.”

A majority of the APC caretaker committee members voted no confidence in him in a notice dated March 8, 2022.

Governor Abubakar Sani Bello, Senator Ken Nnamani, Senator Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf, Professor Tahir Mammah, Senator Abba Alli, H.E David Lyon, Hon Akinremi Olàide, Mrs Stella Okotete, Barr Ismaeel Ahmad, and Dr James Lalu all signed the notice.

They used Article 17 subsection 5 of the APC Constitution as justification for the dismissal, claiming that it allows them to vote no confidence in any member determined to be unfit.

The Secretary had been absent from most CECPC meetings for a few weeks until Tuesday, fueling rumours that it was due to the no-confidence vote.

Barr. Ismaeel Ahmed, a spokesperson for the Sani Bello-led CECPC, said the list remained the final and authentic list in response to the suspension of sub committees.

The CECPC never approved the list released by Akpanudkedehe, according to Ahmed, and the committee has no record of such a list.

“The approved final list was the result of extensive consultations with all stakeholders and follow-up to ensure a decent, representative, and inclusive list was put together, and the same has since been issued,” he said.

“Sacked Senator Akpanudoedehe’s ludicrous action is thus viewed as an affront to the committee, which was duly constituted in accordance with the party’s constitution and NEC.”

However, Akpanudoedehe insisted on keeping his position as secretary.

“I am still the secretary,” he informed Ejes Gist Newspaper over the phone. Everything is superseded by the President’s letter.”


That is all the news for now on APC Caretaker committee passes ‘vote of no confidence’ in Akpanudoedehe, you can also read EFCC arrests Church founder wanted by FBI


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.