Akwa United

Ejes Gist telegram link

After a thrilling 5-2 victory over MFM FC in Uyo, has won the Nigeria Professional Football League season 2020/2021.

On Sunday, Charles Atshimene concluded a strong performance with a hat-trick, bringing his season total to 18 goals.

has the league’s longest unbeaten streak (18 games) and has also kept the cleanest sheets this season.

ALSO READ: Arsenal vs Chelsea: Full-Time Arsenal 1-2 Chelsea

In their 25-year history, this will be the first time, Akwa United, the Promise Keepers have claimed the NPFL championship.

Coach Kennedy Boboye will win the trophy for the second time, having led Plateau United to their first league triumph in 2017.

Akwa United

Meanwhile, At the ongoing Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, Nigerian Ese Brume has advanced to the final of the women’s long jump event.

With a 6.76m leap, Brume took fourth place in Group B.

Ivana Spanovic, the reigning World Indoor champion, won Group B with a 7.00m leap.

Malaika Mihambo, the reigning world champion, came in second with a leap of 6.98m. Chantel Malone (6.82m) of the British Virgin Islands took third place.

Brume, a bronze medalist at the 2019 World Championships in Doha, is seen as one of Nigeria’s best medal hopes in Tokyo.

In May, the 25-year-old broke Chioma Ajunwa’s 25-year long jump record of 7.12m after jumping a distance of 7.17m at the Chule Vista Festival.

She was also the sole Nigerian athlete to compete in the final of her event at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio, where she finished fifth with a leap of 6.81 metres.

Brittney Reese (6.86m) and Tara Davis (6.85m) of the United States took top and second place in Group A, respectively, with Sweden’s Khaddi Sagnia (6.76m) and Abigail Irozuru (6.75m) of the United Kingdom qualifying third and fourth.

Thanks for reading Akwa United Wins 2020/2021 NPFL for the first time in 25–years 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.