11 PDP Lawmakers Dump Party, Join APC, NNPP

PDP Chairman

A total of 11 have defected to the NNPP and APC


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has lost 11 members of the Kano State House of Assembly, who have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), respectively.

Read Also : 19-year-old student murders ex-lover inside classroom, See How

Ejes Gist Newspaper reports that ten of the eleven members defected to the NNPP, while Salisu Maje Ahmed Gwangwazo, the member representing Kano Municipal, defected to the ruling APC.

WAEC 2022 Massive Recruitment for Graduates - APPLY NOW


According to Ahmed Gwangwazo’s letter to Kano State House of Assembly Speaker Rt. Hon. Engineer Hamisu Ibrahim Chidari, his decision to join the APC was prompted by divisions in the PDP’s leadership at both the state and national levels.

Pay Attention To : Latest News about ASUU strike Nigeria: DG labour institute, Aremu demands social dialogue

According to a statement from the Assembly’s Director of Press and Public Affairs, Uba Abdullahi, the speaker congratulated the member on his decision to join the APC and assured him that the party would support him and his family in all matters concerning the party.

Pay Attention To : JAMB result Checker portal login  – Jamb.gov.ng efacility Login

However, the other ten lawmakers also sent letters to the Speaker, dated May 6, informing the House of their defection due to an alleged leadership feud in the PDP.

Thanks for reading Massive Defection Hits Assembly As 11 PDP Lawmakers Move To NNPP, APC



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.